Tottenham Hotspur

Tottenham Hotspur.svg
Full nameTottenham Hotspur Football Club
Nickname(s)Spurs, Lilywhites
Founded1882; 129 years ago (as Hotspur F.C.)
GroundWhite Hart Lane,
Tottenham, London
(Capacity: 36,310)
OwnerENIC International Ltd.
ChairmanDaniel Levy
ManagerHarry Redknapp
LeaguePremier League
2010–11Premier League, 5th

Tottenham Hotspur Football Club commonly referred to as Spurs, is an English football club based in Tottenham, London, who currently play in the Premier League. The club's home stadium is White Hart Lane.
Founded in 1882, Tottenham won the FA Cup for the first time in 1901, making it the only non-League club to do so since the formation of the Football League. Tottenham was the first club in the 20th century to achieve the League and FA Cup Double, winning both competitions in the 1960–61 season. After successfully defending the FA Cup in 1962, in 1963 it became the first British club to win a UEFA club competition – the European Cup Winners' Cup. In 1967 they won the FA Cup for a third time in the 1960s. 

In the 1970s Spurs won the League Cup on two occasions and was the inaugural winner of the UEFA Cup in 1972, becoming the first British club to win two different major European trophies. In the 1980s Spurs won several trophies: the FA Cup twice, FA Community Shield and the UEFA Cup in 1984. In the 1990s the club won the FA Cup and the League Cup. When it won the League Cup once more in 2008, it meant that it had won a major trophy in each of the last six decades – an achievement only matched by Manchester United.
The club's Latin motto is Audere est Facere (lit: "To Dare Is to Do"), and its emblem is a cockerel standing upon a football. The club has a long-standing rivalry with near neighbours Arsenal. Matches between the two teams are known as the North London derby.


White Hart Lane

White Hart Lane was originally a disused nursery owned by the brewery Charringtons and located behind a public house. The landlord realised the increased revenues he could enjoy if Tottenham played their matches behind his pub and the club moved in. They brought with them the stand they used at Northumberland Park which gave shelter to 2,500 fans. Notts County were the first visitors to 'the Lane' in a friendly watched by 5,000 people and bringing in £115 in receipts, Spurs won 4–1. QPR became the first competitive visitors to the ground and 11,000 people saw them lose 1–0 to Tottenham.

In 1905 Tottenham raised enough money to buy the freehold to the land and became the permanent owners of the ground. As the club grew new stands were added. A new main stand was added in 1909, the East stand was also covered this year and extended further two years later. The profits from the 1921 FA Cup win were used to build a covered terrace at the Paxton Road end and the Park Lane end was built at a cost of over £3,000 some two years later. This increased the ground's capacity to around 58,000 with room for 40,000 under cover. The East Stand development was finishing in 1934 which increased the capacity to around 80,000 spectators and cost £60,000. The pitch was renovated in 1952 which uncovered a number of items from the old nursery on the site and one year later the first floodlights were introduced. These lights were upgraded in 1957 which required the cockerel to be moved from the West Stand to the East and then in 1961 floodlight pylons were installed.

The West Stand was replaced by an expensive (and far behind schedule) new structure and the stadium started its long modernisation process. Various developments and upgrades were implemented over the years and in 1992 the lower terraces of the south and east stand were converted to seating and the whole of the North stand followed to become all-seater the following season. The South Stand re-development was completed in March 1995 and included the first giant Sony Jumbotron TV screen for live game coverage and away match screenings. The capacity of the stadium increased to just over 33,000. In 1997/98 season the Paxton Road stand had a new upper tier added which included the second Jumbotron screen and increased capacity to 36,240 and was funded by a rights issue in 1996.


First-team squad

1BrazilGKHeurelho Gomes
3WalesMFGareth Bale
4FranceDFYounès Kaboul
6EnglandMFTom Huddlestone
7EnglandMFAaron Lennon
8EnglandMFScott Parker
9RussiaFWRoman Pavlyuchenko
10TogoFWEmmanuel Adebayor (on loan from Manchester City)
11NetherlandsMFRafael van der Vaart
13FranceDFWilliam Gallas
14CroatiaMFLuka Modrić
17MexicoFWGiovani dos Santos
18EnglandFWJermain Defoe
19CameroonDFSébastien Bassong
20EnglandDFMichael Dawson (vice captain)
21CroatiaMFNiko Kranjčar
23ItalyGKCarlo Cudicini
24United StatesGKBrad Friedel
25EnglandMFDanny Rose
26EnglandDFLedley King (captain)
28EnglandDFKyle Walker
29EnglandMFJake Livermore
32CameroonDFBenoît Assou-Ekotto
40South AfricaMFSteven Pienaar
EnglandMFJermaine Jenas